OPINION: Religion Gone Wrong!

Posted: September 8, 2011 in Opinion
Tags: , , ,

While casually walking around campus today I encountered one of the things I despise most:  Religious Soliciters.  Though I am a huge advocator for the rights of ALL humans to be equal, I do not believe in publicly forcing your religious beliefs down others throats.  Religion is something that should be used to better your mind, body and soul, not a tactic to force fear down the throats of others.

As I walked past this standoff between a overwhelming “preacher” and a mob of college students, I overhear the words, “God hates…”  Need I say anything else?  I’m taking back my previous statement.  If there’s one thing I despise more than religious soliciters, it’s IGNORANT religious soliciters.  I don’t claim to be someone who is overly religious, but if there’s one thing I know, it’s that those two words should never exist simultaneously when referring to religion.  Especially when the words to follow are “homosexuals”.  He then goes on to explain how women should always be submissive to their men and that our troops are going to Hell.  Suddenly, I began to understand why this man was surrounded by police officers.

Religion is something people should take comfort in, not something to frighten them.  Why would someone preaching about a God who loves ALL people, also preach about hatred?  Religion should be a personal discovery for a human being.  Your beliefs should be something that define YOU, not Richmond’s resident looney toon.

The part that upsets me the most about this concept is the practice of it on college campuses.  College is supposed to be that time of self-discovery and finding your own comfort zone.  How can you be expected to do so, when you have a man preaching about you going to Hell?  There’s a reason some college students don’t continue to live at home, and that’s to make their own decisions.

I understand that religion is a touchy subject for a lot of people, and a lot of people take comfort in believing in a higher power.  But, that does not given you any reason to force it down everybody else’s throats.  Let us discover our own beliefs.  Regardless of what they may be.  If I decide to be a Buddhist, then I’ll be a Buddhist.  If I decide to be a Muslim, then I’ll be a Muslim!  And if I decide to be an Atheist, well then, that’s alright too!

No matter what a person’s beliefs tell them, it doesn’t give them the right to discriminate against any type of person.  First and most importantly, we are ALL humans and we were ALL created equal!

Leave a Reply

